Whatever you do, don’t click on links from emails like this
post-template-default,single,single-post,postid-1881,single-format-standard,bridge-core-3.0.5,qode-page-transition-enabled,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode-theme-ver-29.2,qode-theme-bridge,disabled_footer_top,disabled_footer_bottom,qode_header_in_grid,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.10.0,vc_responsive

Whatever you do, don’t click on links from emails like this

website repair recovery lpcs boston

Whatever you do, don’t click on links from emails like this

Here is an actual email I got this week:


SUBJECT: This is your Final Notice of Domain Listing

Attention: Important Notice , DOMAIN SERVICE NOTICE
Domain Name: websitesdanvers.com

ATT: Lauren Poussard
Response Requested By
31 – Dec. – 2018


Attn: Lauren Poussard
As a courtesy to domain name holders, we are sending you this notification for your business Domain name search engine registration. This letter is to inform you that it’s time to send in your registration.

Failure to complete your Domain name search engine registration by the expiration date may result in cancellation of this offer making it difficult for your customers to locate you on the web.

Privatization allows the consumer a choice when registering. Search engine registration includes domain name search engine submission. Do not discard, this notice is not an invoice it is a courtesy reminder to register your domain name search engine listing so your customers can locate you on the web.

This Notice for: websitesdanvers.com will expire at 11:59PM EST, 31 – Dec. – 2018 Act now!

Select Package:

12/30/2018 6:27:55 PM


If you ever get e-mails like this, almost 100% of the time, it’s a scam.  As you can see in the subject line, they are trying to create a sense of urgency and scare you into doing something and act now.  DON’T!


What to do if you see emails like this:

  • First off, do NOT click any of the links in the message.
  • Look through the text, guaranteed there is probably some typos or gobbledy-gook (sp?) – you can see this in the footer of the above.
  • Verify it is coming from the domain registrar your domain is actually registered at – by the way – they won’t send you emails like this!
  • In doubt? Check the domain in the link – don’t click the link – just type the first part out:  http://savannahtank.com/ – look where it goes to!!  Clearly poor savannahtank.com has been scammed too.
  • Subscribe to domain privacy wherever your domain is hosted.


If you still don’t know what to do – give us a call.   We can help validate the origin if you still have questions.  Otherwise hit the DELETE button!






No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.